Neil Harbisson

Born with a rare visual condition, Harbisson sees the world in shades of gray only. But he has overcome his condition by creating a device, the Eyeborg, a small head mounted camera that allows him to perceive color, and transforms it into a particular sound (so to "hear" colors, translating color into sound and viceversa). Harbisson, born in Belfast in 1982, defines himself as a cyborg, because of this "third eye" being permanently attached to his head. The Eyeborg, created by Harbisson with the help of a Cybernetic researcher - has become an exciting new door to the world of art and music. His latest project is Cyber Venezia. On the occasion of the 2009 Biennale di Venezia, Harbisson presented at Giudecca 795 his Eyeborg, his "Sound Portraits" of celebrities, (also giving the audience to have their own sound portrait expressly made), and "Sonochromatics", chromatic expression of famous music pieces (customised Sonochromatics of your favourite music, or speech, can also be ordered).
Presently, the Sonochromatics available at the Giudecca 795 Art Gallery are the following - for purchase:

  • BACH - Toccata und Fuge d-Moll (Toccata and Fugue in D minor) BWV 565
  • BEETHOVEN - Für Elisa (For Elisa)
  • CAGE - 4'33
  • GRIEG - Morgenstemning (Morning Mood)
  • VIVALDI Le Quattro Stagioni (The Four Seasons)
    1. Primavera (Spring)
    2. Estate (Summer)
    3. Autunno (Autumn)
    4. Inverno (Winter)
    5. Primav+Estate+Aut+Inverno
  • MOZART - Eine Kleine Nachtmusik (Serenade No. 13 for strings in G major) K. 525
  • RACHMANINOV - Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30 - Rach 3
  • STRAVINSKY - Le sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring)
  • TCHAIKOVSKY - Violin Concert in D major, Op. 35
    1. Fragment A
    2. Fragment B
  • VERDI - Aida, Marcia Trionfale (Triumphal March)
  • DOUGLAS-WEISS (L.ARMSTRONG) - What a Wonderful World
Other Sonochromatics after music or text: upon request. Contact us

< back to ARTISTS <

Cage 4'33Rachmaninov Piano Concert n3Vivaldi Spring
Self portraitStravinsky The Rite of SpringLe Quattro Stagioni - The Four Seasons by Vivaldi
Armstrong Wonderful WorldGrieg MorningMozart Kleine Nacht Musik

pages: 1 - 2 - 3